Use the

Planning a Trip to Japan?

Share your travel photos with us by hashtagging your images with #visitjapanjp


The Tohoku region of Japan (東北地方) is located in the northern part of Honshu main island of Japan, and is composed of the 6 prefectures, namely Aomori (青森), Akita (秋田), Iwate (岩手), Miyagi (宮城), Yamagata (山形) and Fukushima (福島). Thanks to its location at the higher latitude, the temperatures in Tohoku region are usually lower than in other Honshu regions all-year-round.
8.7 million people live in this prosperous region surrounded by superb sceneries and high-quality water and rice, and Sendai city of Miyagi prefecture being the biggest city in the region in term of population.

The Tohoku region is connected to 2 seas: the sea of Japan and the Pacific sea and cities in both coasts are characterized by very different climates, with the Sea of Japan coast of Tohoku having hotter and more humid summers (June to August) and snowy winters (December to February). The Pacific coast, on the other hand, has relatively cooler summers, warmer winters, and observe lesser snow volumes in the winter.

In short, Tohoku region has so much to offer, from unspoiled rural landscapes and historical treasures, majestic mountains and lakes, lively summer festivals or thrilling winter experiences to abundant local cuisines.


“TOHOKU 24” showcases the timeless and yet-to-be discovered beauties dotted in the 6 prefectures of the region. Regardless of day or night, or what time of the day, Tohoku definitely has something to offer, from midnight gastronomy trip to evening magical sunset moment.
Follow the 24-hour timeline below to discover all the charms you will find in the region!


Please Choose Your Language

Browse the JNTO site in one of multiple languages