Use the

Planning a Trip to Japan?

Share your travel photos with us by hashtagging your images with #visitjapanjp


Mikata Lakes Cycling Tour

HOME > Japan’s Local Treasures > Mikata Lakes Cycling Tour


Explore the Mikata Five Lakes area of Fukui Prefecture by bike, with varied scenery and local flavors to sample

Mikata Goko DMO



Lake Mikata, Lake Suigetsu, Lake Suga, Lake Kugushi, and Lake Hiruga—collectively known as the Five Lakes of Mikata—are found in the towns of Mihama and Wakasa in Fukui Prefecture. They are also known as the “five-colored lakes” because the water quality and depth gives each a unique hue.

The area around the lakes also has beaches, mountains, and rivers, so during your bike tour you can see a surprising variety of scenery. As you explore, your guide will share the culture and history of the region with you and explain how inhabitants have been living sustainably in harmony with their surroundings.

The cycling tour covers a 22km course that goes around three of the five lakes: Lake Mikata, Lake Suga, and Lake Suigetsu. During the tour, stop by a local sake brewery and a pickled plum shop and enjoy some local flavors while chatting with the owners.

Most of the course is flat, and e-bikes are provided, so this tour is appropriate for cyclists of all levels.


How to get there


From Nagoya Station, take the JR Limited Express train to Tsuruga (about 1 hour 40 minutes). Transfer to the Obama Line and get off at Mikata Station (about 35 minutes). The meeting point is about 20 minutes by bus or taxi from the station.

64-9-1 Umiyama, Wakasa-cho, Mikatakaminaka-gun, Fukui-ken



Please Choose Your Language

Browse the JNTO site in one of multiple languages