Use the

Planning a Trip to Japan?

Share your travel photos with us by hashtagging your images with #visitjapanjp

My Favorites

Mikata Five Lakes 三方五湖

Mikata Five lakes Mikata Five lakes
Mikata Five lakes Mikata Five lakes

Five lakes of different colors and with different aquatic creatures

The Mikata Five Lakes are spread across the towns of Mikata and Mikatakaminaka in southern Fukui. This quintet of lakes—Mikata, Suigetsu, Suga, Kugushi, and Hiruga, respectively—are all part of the Wakasa Wan Quasi-National Park, and are recognized as an important wetland under the Ramsar Convention.

The lakes are different shades of blue due to the varying composition of their waters.

How to Get There

While the Mikata Five Lakes are accessible by foot from Mikata, Kiyama, and Mihama stations on the JR Obama Line, using a taxi is the best option to get around the area.

Get the most breathtaking views

A designated scenic spot, the Mikata Five Lakes provide some of the prefecture's most breathtaking views. From the plum blossoms in the spring to the maple leaves in the fall, each season has its own beauty.

Enjoy the view on the boat

It goes without saying that the best way to enjoy the scenery of the Mikata Five Lakes is by boat. There are a number of boat tours available to visitors, all of which visit multiple lakes as they are connected by channels and canals.

The lakes are composed of varying amount of freshwater and ocean water, so you'll find fish native to both ecosystems.

Near Mikata Five Lakes

Mikata Five lakes Nature
Mikata Five Lakes Mikatakaminaka-gun, Fukui-ken
Myotsuji Temple History
Myotsuji Temple Obama-shi, Fukui-ken
Omizu-okuri Festivals & Events
Wakasa Jinguji Temple Omizu Okuri Festival Obama-shi, Fukui-ken
Kihi no Matsubara Attraction
Kehi-No-Matsubara Tsuruga-shi, Fukui-ken
Red Brick Warehouse Attraction
Tsuruga Red Brick Warehouse Tsuruga-shi, Fukui-ken
Mizushima Island Nature
Mizushima Island Tsuruga-shi, Fukui-ken

Please Choose Your Language

Browse the JNTO site in one of multiple languages