Use the

Planning a Trip to Japan?

Share your travel photos with us by hashtagging your images with #visitjapanjp

My Favorites

TIC Certification Program

In an attempt to further enhance the experience of all those traveling to Japan, JNTO and the Japan Tourism Agency began a TIC (Tourist Information Center) Certification Program in 2012 and have since approved over 1,500 qualified tourist information centers throughout Japan. Tourist information providers are divided into three categories based on function. The program also includes a three-year renewal system to promote excellent customer service.

Description of Categories

Here are the major requirements to qualify for each category.

Services and Facilities 3 2 1
Coverage Area
All over Japan
Neighboring prefectures
Within the city / prefecture
Service is available in English and 2 other languages, with full-time staff
English-speaking staff are on duty full-time
No full-time staff with foreign language skills on duty. However, service is available with minimal English and other languages may be available
Days of operation
Open year-round
Open more than 240 days/year including either Saturdays or Sundays
Open more than 240 days/year
Internet PC and Wi-Fi
Available on site
Some partner facilities are also available to assist foreign tourists with local information without any commercial or financial purposes. Even with no full-time staff speaking foreign languages fluently, these facilities willingly provide assistance with minimal English.

Please Choose Your Language

Browse the JNTO site in one of multiple languages