Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park

Volcanoes stretching from the Pacific Ocean to sacred Mt. Fuji

Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park is divided into four areas: the Mt. Fuji Area, which is centered on Mt. Fuji and includes lakes, swamps, and plateaus in the surrounding area; the Hakone Area, which served as a posting station on the Tokaido Road and has been renowned through the ages as a hot spring area; the Izu Peninsula Area, which offers the appeal of Amagi Mountain Range richly varying coastlines, and hot springs; and the Izu Islands Area, which comprises the seven islands in the Izu Shichito Islands.

Visiting Japan's National Parks

Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park, like all of Japan's national parks, has no entrance fees, no opening and closing hours, and a permit is not required to enter or stay in the park. The national parks of Japan differ from national parks worldwide in that the land within the national parks is not exclusively designated for national park use and is made up of private property as well as public and protected areas. Visitors are free to enter and leave at any time.

Park Highlights

With Mt. Fuji located in the north, Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park is a national park representative of Japan—a volcanic country—comprising various landforms within the Fuji Volcanic Zone as well as hot springs, richly varying coastlines and islands.


  • Exploring the otherworldly Jougasaki coastline
  • Look out to sea from Cape Irozaki
  • Volcanic gasses spewing from Owakudani Valley

Lava flows from the area's volcanoes formed the Fuji Goko Lakes: Lake Yamanaka, Lake Kawaguchi, Lake Saiko, Lake Shoji and Lake Motosu. On the long-cooled lava flow at the foot of the mountain on the Northwest side is the vast, primeval Aokigahara-jukai Forest.


Mt. Fuji is famous for being Japan’s highest stratovolcano and the beauty of the mountain’s symmetrical shape is renowned around the world. With an altitude of 3,776 m, Mt. Fuji has over 70 lateral cones (small volcanoes created on the side, or at the foot of a mountain) on its slopes, including Mt. Hoei and Mt. Omuro.


Precious natural Japanese beech forests remain on a large scale along trails through the Amagi cordillera on the Pacific Ocean side of the peninsula, making this an important area in terms of biodiversity protection. The area has many visitors, mainly in spring when flowers such as Rhododendron degronianum Carriere var. amagianum and Pieris japonica subsp. Japonica are in bloom.


As a strategic stopping point for east-west transportation, the Hakone Sekisho checking stations were established in the area during the Edo period, and the town prospered as a post station on the Tokaido Road. Around this time, the seven hot springs of Hakone Onsen became well-known, a popularity which continues to this day.


At the foot of Mt. Fuji on the mountain's northeast side, the Aokigahara-jukai Forest grows on a lava flow formed during the Great Jogan Eruption some 1,200 years ago. In addition to its easy walking trails, the forest also has various natural attractions, including the Fugaku Wind Cave and Narusawa Ice Cave.

About the Park 

Providing views of graceful Mt. Fuji from all directions, yet located close to the metropolitan area, Fuji-Hakone-Izu National Park is the most visited national park in Japan.


  • Date of National Park Designation: February 1, 1936, as Fuji-Hakone National Park (the Izu Peninsula area was incorporated and the name of the park changed on March 15, 1955; the Izu Islands area was incorporated on July 7, 1964)
  • Area: 121,695 ha (1,216.95 sq. kilometers)
  • Location: Tokyo, Kanagawa, Yamanashi, Shizuoka prefectures


As with any national park or conservation area, visitors to Fuji-Hakone-Izu are required to observe the following rules for safety and to protect the area's natural biodiversity:

  • Carry in, carry out: Take all of your trash with you.
  • Do not pick wildflowers or damage plants.
  • Do not feed the wild animals.
  • Hunting is not permitted.
  • No fishing unless with a certified guide.
  • No smoking while walking.
  • Campfires are only permitted in designated areas.
  • Collection of lava rock is prohibited.