上信越高原國家公園擁有壯觀的美景,坐擁五座由火山噴發活動形成的主要山峰。公園內除了世界首屈一指的滑雪與度假勝地、精緻的溫泉度假村,還有各式各樣的健行路線。深入山地盡情探索,有機會能看見日本髭羚、日本彌猴、金鵰和白鼬等野生動物的蹤影。

必選行程

  • 在冬季天堂——志賀高原盡情滑雪
  • 觀賞野生彌猴「雪猴」在地獄谷溫泉中泡湯
  • 在輕井澤享受健行、露營、觀察動物生態和滑冰的樂趣
  • 感受道地的日本文化:溫泉、湯治(一種溫泉療法)和日式旅館
  • 欣賞谷川連山周圍令人驚艷的美景

公園概覽

上信越高原國家公園位於本州中央地帶,擁有絕美的地貌景觀。園區涵蓋了五大主要山峰,從新潟縣一路向下延伸至群馬縣。公園可分為三大主要區域:北方的苗場山與谷川連山、中部的志賀高原與草津白根山,以及南方的根子岳與淺間山。

苗場山與谷川連山

北方的重山峻嶺遍布著廣闊的沼澤和池塘。苗場山為一座死火山,同時也是苗場滑雪道的所在地。這座熔岩高原峰頂坐落著一個高沼地,而山腳處則覆滿擁有超過 100 年歷史的茂密山毛櫸林。 

高聳入雲的谷川連山坐落於園區東北方,由許多 2,000 公尺級距的山峰所組成,其中包括谷川岳、茂倉岳、萬太郎山,以及平標山這座火山。來到這裡的一之倉站,即可欣賞到美麗的谷川連山全景與陡峭圍岩風光。此地一直以來深受攀岩高手喜愛。攀登這座火山時需攜帶合適裝備並受過專業訓練,因此僅建議經驗豐富的高手前來挑戰。若選擇搭乘纜車或吊椅,可輕鬆欣賞到令人讚嘆的連山風光。

谷川岳

志賀高原與草津白根山

優美的志賀高原地區位於公園中央,是由劇烈的熔岩流所形成。此地擁有茂密的偃松林,在較溫暖的月份更可欣賞到美麗的高山花卉。志賀高原擁有世界首屈一指的滑雪度假村,每逢冬季便會吸引眾多觀光客前來,享受在深粉雪中滑雪的樂趣。不妨參加由專人帶領的野外滑雪之旅,盡情欣賞令人驚嘆的迷人雪景。  

預訂志賀高原健行行程,即可前往澀池、四十八池濕地和美麗的大沼池觀光,並徒步登上前山頂峰,欣賞廣闊的橫手山美景。

稚兒池則坐落於志賀高原的燒額山峰頂。湖泊四周的濕地棲息著許多生物,例如金鵰、白鼬以及各種青蛙和蠑螈。

草津白根山(標高 2,160 公尺)是一座位於志賀高原南邊的火山,其地形獨特,峰頂周圍亦擁有數座火口湖。鈷綠色的湯釜湖是此地最大的火口湖,其直徑長達 300 公尺,是世界上為數不多的酸性湖之一。

區內以當地的古湯著稱,這些古老的溫泉由火山活動所形成,其中位於園區東部的四萬溫泉是歷史最悠久且最受歡迎的溫泉之一。這個溫泉度假村受群山環繞,為一完美的山間休閒度假勝地。

熱門的地獄谷野猿公苑溫泉區則位於公園西側。來到這裡,可欣賞到名為「雪猴」的野生日本彌猴享受溫暖泡湯樂趣的景象。

地獄谷野猿公苑的雪猴

根子岳與淺間山

根子岳(標高 2,207 公尺)坐落於園區西側,毗鄰四阿山,外表與山羊相似的日本髭羚經常會在此地現身。

若於夏季時造訪附近的湯之丸高原,可欣賞到 60 萬株蓮華躑躅盛開的繽紛景象,而池之平濕地則擁有鳶尾花和夾竹桃競相綻放的著名美景。

南方的淺間山是本州最活躍的活火山之一,崎嶇的鬼押出園即位於其北方山腳處。1783 年,淺間山發生了大型火山爆發,其噴出的熔岩形成了此處的奇特地貌。山岳煙霧繚繞,四周則圍繞著荒涼的火山景觀。

前往這座迷人的國家公園時,不妨順道造訪高檔的輕井澤山地度假村,在夏季享受健行、騎單車,以及在高爾夫球場揮桿的樂趣,或在冬季盡情體驗滑雪和滑冰等活動。若想在輕井澤多待幾天,當地也有各式各樣的山莊可供選擇。

淺間山

文化

上信越高原國家公園內的火山活動形成了數座溫泉,眾多溫泉度假村也隨之而建,例如四萬溫泉、草津溫泉、萬座溫泉、鹿澤溫泉和山田溫泉等。這些擁有悠久歷史的溫泉景點曾吸引多位知名作家造訪,俳句詩人小林一茶(1763~1828 年)即為其中之一。

公園長久以來也與宗教信仰頗有淵源。人們會前來此地造訪苗場山和谷川岳等聖山,並在根子岳附近的米子大瀑布冥想及祈禱。幾世紀以來,這座公園亦為山岳修行的聖地,修驗道(一種融合了不同信仰的民間宗教)信徒經常會前來瀑布附近和山中進行朝拜儀式。

苗場山

The dramatic landscape of Joshin’etsukogen National Park encompasses five major mountain peaks formed by explosive volcanic upheavals. In this area you’ll find world-class ski and vacation venues, fine hot spring resorts and plenty of hiking trails. Venture into the mountains and you’re also likely to see wildlife such as the Japanese serow, macaque monkeys, golden eagles and Japanese stoats.

Don't Miss

  • Skiing in the winter paradise of the Shiga Highlands
  • Seeing the wild macaque “snow monkeys” soaking in the hot springs of Jigokudani
  • Hiking, camping, animal watching and skating in Karuizawa
  • Experiencing authentic Japanese culture: onsen, toji (a hot water therapy), and ryokan inns
  • Stunning views around the Tanigawa mountain range

Park Overview

Joshin’etsukogen National Park, situated in the middle of the main island of Honshu, has a dramatic landscape. The area encompasses five major peaks and stretches from Niigata Prefecture down through Gunma Prefecture. The park has three main sections: Mount Naeba and the Tanigawa mountain range in the north, Shiga Highland and Mount Kusatsu-Shirane in the center, and Mount Nekodake and Mount Asama in the south.

Mount Naeba and Tanigawa Mountain Range

The mountain peaks in the north are covered with broad marshes and ponds. Mount Naeba, an extinct volcano, is home to the Naeba ski slopes. This lava highland has a high moor at the peak, and the foot of the mountain is covered in Japanese beech forests that date back more than 100 years. 

The towering Tanigawa mountain range northeast of the park includes several peaks in the 2,000-meter range—Mount Tanigawa, Mount Shigekura, Mount Mantaro and Mount Tairappyo, a volcano. You’ll also find Ichinokurasawa Gorge, which has panoramic views of the Tanigawa range and a sheer rock wall. The gorge is a perennial favorite of expert rock climbers. The ascent requires proper equipment and training, though, so only scale it if you’re very experienced. A ropeway and lifts provide an easier way to view this breathtaking mountain range.

Mount Tanigawa

Shiga Highland and Mount Kusatsu-Shirane

The beautiful highland area of Shiga Kogen, set in the middle of the park, was created by intense lava flows. You’ll find Siberian dwarf pines here, and alpine flowers during the warmer months. In the winter, the world-class ski resort here attracts a stream of visitors eager to slalom through its deep powder. Join a guided backcountry snow tour to fully enjoy the stunning landscapes.  

You can book a trekking tour of Shiga Kogen that takes in Shibuike Pond, Shijuhachiike Marshland and the beautiful Onuma Pond, as well as trekking to the top of Mount Maeyama, where there are expansive views of Mount Yokote.

At the summit of Mount Yakebitai in the Shiga Highland area is Chigoike Pond. The pond is surrounded by a moor inhabited by golden eagles, Japanese stoats and a variety of frogs and salamanders.

To the south of Shiga Highland is Mount Kusatsu-Shirane (2,160 m), a volcano that has a number of crater lakes around its summit and otherworldly volcanic terrain. The largest of the crater lakes, cobalt-green Lake Yugama, has a diameter of 300 meters and is one of the world’s few acidic lakes.

The area is renowned for its ancient onsen hot spring baths, heated by volcanic activity. One of the oldest and most popular onsen resorts is Shima Onsen in the eastern part of the park, ensconced by the mountains and offering the perfect valley retreat.

To the west in the park is the popular Jigokudani Yaen Koen, a hot spring area where you can see wild macaques known as the “snow monkeys” enjoying a bath in the warm, healing waters.

Jigokudani Yaen Koen Snow Monkey

Mount Nekodake and Mount Asama

Mount Nekodake (2,207 m) is in the park’s western end, and adjacent to Mount Azumaya, where there are often sightings of the goat-like Japanese serow.

In nearby Yunomaru Highland, every summer there is a flourish of color from the 600,000 Japanese azalea shrubs, while Ikenotaira Marsh is known for its displays of irises and rosebay.

Mount Asama, to the south, one of Honshu’s most active volcanoes. At the mountain’s northern foot is rugged Onioshidashi Park, with wild formations of lava rock flung here during Mount Asama’s big blowup in 1783. The smoking mountain is surrounded by a desolate volcanic landscape.

Combine a trip to this fascinating park with a visit to the upmarket mountain resort of Karuizawa, where you can hike, cycle or play golf in the summer, and ski and ice skate in the winter. There are plenty of pensions to choose from here if you plan to stay a day or more.

Mount Asama

Culture

The volcanic activity within Joshin’etsukogen National Park created a host of hot springs, and hot spring resorts followed, including Shima Onsen, Kusatsu Onsen, Manza Onsen, Kazawa Onsen and Yamada Onsen. These places have attracted a number of famous writers throughout their long histories, such as haiku poet Kobayashi Issa (1763–1828).

Historically, the park had a spiritual side as well. People would come to see sacred peaks such as Mount Naeba and Mount Tanigawa, and meditate and pray at Yonako Falls, near Mount Nekodake. The park was a place for mountain spiritual training for many centuries. Practitioners of Shugendo—a folk religion blending different faiths and beliefs—would often worship near the falls and in the mountains.

Mount Naeba